zigackly

you're ferpectly right

Developing for Android

I’ve recently begun doing development for the Android OS, specifically making my own “kangs” with features I want to see on my tablets.

Once I started buying Android devices, I had to “root” them to gain control of the features I wanted to use, and also to remove the manufacturers “bloatware” which was getting in my way and ruining my experience of using them.

I rapidly progressed from that to flashing custom “ROMs”, to get access to more functionality than you get with plain old Android, and from there I spent a few months as a “flashaholic”, trying out different ROMs all the time to try to find one with the feature set I wanted.

All of this was ultimately an unsatisfactory experience so, slightly daunted by what I was about to take on, I decided that I was going to develop my own ROM for my trusty Motorola Xoom, and also my partner’s Nexus 7, so that I could get the damn things working exactly as I wanted.

You might call me a pedant, but it’s been an interesting journey, and one which satisfies my inner geek since I stopped working in the IT industry, so I’ve ultimately found it fulfilling, and I hope the nearly 7000 downloads of my work in the few months since I began, and also the features I’ve adapted or invented which have been used by other developers in the community mean that my work has value for others as well.

November 6, 2012 Posted by | Android | Comments Off on Developing for Android